Investing in My Community – the South Philly Food Co-op

Last night I went to a very informative happy hour for the South Philly Food Co-op – a local grocery store that is slated to open in 2017.  They have been working on this for several years and are up to over 700 member-owners.  I threw my cash down to be a part of this community.

shop-south-philly_web-version-292x300

What is a Co-op?

The International Cooperative Alliance defines a co-op as “an autonomous association of persons united voluntarily to meet their common economic, social, and cultural needs and aspirations through a jointly-owned and democratically-controlled enterprise.” A co-op is not a charitable organization or social service agency.

Why did I join?

South Philly has had an interesting landscape over the last decade – particularly in the Easy Passyunk Avenue section.  When I first moved to the city in 2011 nobody went to East Passyunk as there was nothing there but a few local shops.  Now it’s a thriving food hub and up-and-coming neighborhood for the next generation to settle down and grow some roots.

I bought a house less than a mile from where this new grocery store would be.  I want to support my community and spend my time with like-minded people so it makes sense that I would buy into an all-natural organic market that gets its products from local sources.

I also do miss non-profit life and this would be a great way to volunteer and be proactive in my community without putting a lot of money forth.  You pay a one-time fee and you’re a member for life so now that they got my money (thanks, bonus!) I don’t have to worry about paying dues or anything.

How do you support your community?

 

Leave a Reply

