A Better Way to Goal – Wuddup, 2017?

“To be happy we need something to solve. Happiness is therefore a form of action;”
Mark Manson, The Subtle Art of Not Giving a F*ck: A Counterintuitive Approach to Living a Good Life

I’ve spent the last few years haphazardly monitoring my goals that every year seem to be the same themes with little progress….and every year I end up feeling unfulfilled.

This year, I’m going to go a bit above and beyond. I turned 30 this month and I’m finally ready to grow and focus.  Less nickel and diming and more big-picture shit.  I think I’ve put together some legitimate, measurable goals for 2017 that I am excited to work towards.

Personal Goals

General Health
2016-08-25-07-23-05“lose weight” is pretty typical but this year I just want to focus on making good health decisions.  I’ve gained about 30lbs in the last 2 years which sucks but I am not upset with how I look.  So I am going to get some blood work done in February after my sinus surgery to see where I really need to work but am also going to continue doing healthy shit like not drinking soda and hitting the gym and using my FitBit.
Sub-Goal: Donate Blood – Donating blood is basically the poor philanthropist’s greatest gift.  Too broke to give money?  Here is some shit your body literally regenerates for free.  Have at it.  I’m signed up for a blood drive on February 20th to donate at the University of Pennsylvania (had to wait until after surgery)

Focus on Creativity 
I’ve spent the last few years focusing my energy on committing almost every waking moment to making money – from work to sitting in front of this laptop cranking out surveys and videocounts for apps like Swagbucks and InboxDollars.  Every year, the earning becomes less and the burden to make pennies greater.  It doesn’t make me happy.  So I need to reset that.

2011

Creating makes me happy.  Painting, doodling, collaging, reading, going to art shows makes me happy.  I need to get back to that and bring my focus back to the ways I feel most alive.  I’m gonna do the fuck out of some art this year and I’m going to work the sexiest on me – my goddamn brain.

Financial Goals

Pay Down Some Mortgage
Wuddup, mortgage? How YOU doin? Look, we’re cool and all but I don’t want to hang together for 30 years. So I’m gonna pump money into your principal this year. Take it like a champ. But June I want to have one extra payment of just principal in there – about $1,000.

Save Like a Motherfucker
Between my savings and my Roth IRA there is a lot of opportunity to put more money away and I need to embrace that this year. Ideally I would like to put at least $1,000 away by June between those two accounts.

So $2,000 towards these goals by June? It’s reasonable.

Professional Goals

License Credits
In order to maintain my health, life, and disability insurance license I have to get 24 Continuing Education (CE) credits every 2 years.  It would appear that most people wait until they’re getting the notifications that it is about to expire.  I’m going to get a jump on it and try to get 12 credits done by June.

Annuities
These are not my responsibility at work currently but I want to learn more about them.  There’s not much elaboration here because I have much to learn.

Blog Goals

Why The Fuck Are You Reading This?
I want to be a voice for personal growth.  I want to motivate my fellow “aging millennials” to push through mountains of debt and still live a happy life.  I’m tired of stressing about my student loans and mortgage every goddamn day and it took a meeting with a financial adviser for me to realize that I am paying off my investments in my future and there’s no need to live a life of guilt and deprivation.  Within reason.

Weekly Updates
I want to work to update you on these goals weekly.  I want to spend most of my time creating but I want to check in and be held accountable.  Follow me to share your journeys.  Follow me to ridicule me when I miss a week or have gained another 30 pounds.  Follow me to see a lot of F-bombs.

So these are my goals to solve  – what are you going to accomplish the fuck out of in 2017?

One thought on “A Better Way to Goal – Wuddup, 2017?

  1. […] This is my piggy bank!  It’s actually a bear bank.  A teal, sparkly bear bank from the Minnesota airport.  Every few months I count up my change in this bank and a burger bank I keep by the door and deposit it!  I got $6.50 out of this guy this week and deposited it in my new Wells Fargo checking for my Pay Down the Mortgage Goal […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

